Connect With Us

Waterford GAA Referees

Waterford GAA Referees

With the growth in popularity of Gaelic Games, the demand for match officials is increasing. The referee, four umpires and two linemen are entrusted with the responsibility for the control of games. They work as a team of responsible officials dedicated to carrying out their duties with integrity, consistency and uniformity.

The role of the Referee is to:

Apply the rules in order to create conditions for our Games to be played well. The rules spell out the conditions for our Games to be played well; the proper application of the rules creates these conditions.

The basic requirements of a referee are:

  • A thorough knowledge of the rules
  • Be physically and mentally fit
  • Deal courteously with players and officials
  • Have the ability to remain calm
  • Operate strictly in accordance with the principles of justice and fair play
  • Have the moral courage to take decisions which are correct
  • Be able to live with unfair criticism
  • Be able to accept constructive criticism
  • Retain a good learning graph
  • Be alert and decisive on the field
  • Enjoy refereeing
  • Be committed to the protection of players and the prevention of abusive or violent conduct
  • Be a good communicator on and off the field
  • At all times be well presented
  • Behave with dignity both on and off the field
  • Have a sense of humour and the ability to smile; while these qualities are not requirements they are great assets

Above all things else, retain integrity, consistency and uniformity.

John Jackson
Referee Administrator
Waterford GAA

Below are the current contact details of the Waterford Referees.

NameClubContact No.

Anthony Fitzgerald

Conor Ahearne

Dessie 0’ LearyErins Own0876366569

Edmond FitzgeraldGaultier0877589472

Eoin MorrisseyErins Own0872896735

John KielyKill0860795520

Seaghan WalshDe La Salle0860612971

Brian CuddihyNaomh Pól0879817001

John PowerButlerstown0860711256

Kieran O’TooleNaomh Pól0860644241

Larry PowerBallygunner0879280236

Michael O’BrienPortlaw0876967700

Michael WaddingRoanmore0876793854

Nicholas BarryPassage0894553909

Nicolas O’TooleNaomh Pól0876179640

Noel KellyErins Own0876821321

Robbie DunneSt. Mollerans0861515060

Robert GraceMount Sion0872959740

Tim O'ByrneErins Own0871314857

Tom DeeRathgormack

Tony LarkinBallyduff Lower0863749829

Vinny O’TooleRoanmore0872096929

Brendan BreenStradbally0868733096

Cian O'HalloranBrickey Rangers0879124934

Donal MurphyAn Rinn0872265021

Emmet QuannLismore0868338598

Gavin WhelanColligan0877918018

Joe SalmonClashmore0879385803

Killian O’SullivanCappoquin0868457569

Martin CurranOld Parish0877797168

Paddy SmithShamrocks0877535520

Pádraig NolanCappoquin0869170571

Pat CaseyCappoquin0863718159

Sean MurphyShamrocks0872390208

Stephen McCarthyBrickey Rangers0877618292

Stephen PrattTallow0863465943

Tadhg TobinBrickey Rangers0879359896

Timmy OrganAbbeyside0877516195

Tom MansfieldCappoquin0878229762

Tomas O’CorraoinAn Rinn0868458580

Tomas WalshModeligo0871348082

Tommy O’SullivanCappoquin0874146890

OFFICIAL sponsors